Return to Help Center

Welcome to the Bravenet Help Forums. Here you can chat and meet other Bravenet Members. Please do not post advertisements.

Forum: Site Builder Discussions
This forum is locked and posting is not allowed
Author
Comment
Can't control navigation (left nav)???

Hi,

I have just taken over running this site from Sandy who ran it for about 14 years. I changed a bunch of things and included Artist's Bio's for each of our participants as a new paged for each linked from the primary side content of their regular page. That was very straightforward right up until I found that creating a page automatically puts it in the left nav (don't want it there) and I don't find any place that allows me to control that.

Then I decided I wanted to re-sort the left nav so I could arrange my artists alphabetically and can't do that until I can find where the editor is for the left nav.

I have been hand-coding html since 1995 (my HTML editor is Notepad) and I still use some older school methods but I'm pretty competent with the code. I do use some basic CSS and can write javascript as needed. So I have a pretty good grip on the code. If need be, I could get into the file for the left nav from file manager without using the editor but haven't figured out which file it is yet.

I do have to say that after working with your visual editor a bit, I like it fairly well. I can type things in the window, do some basic formatting and then switch to the HTML screen to fine tune and adjust as needed. Like all WYSIWYG's it generates far too much unnecessary code, but I try to live with that instead of spending hours trying to clean it up. I hate seeing empty tags (value = "") though, so sometimes I am overcome by my OCD and just delete it all and write it by hand.