Sheffield Indexers

Welcome to our forum ~ please post your questions below.

Sheffield Indexers
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
A Death at Sheffield Union Hospital

HEWITT, Walter (~, age 47).
Died at Sheffield Union; Buried on September 17, 1898 in Consecrated ground;
Grave Number 85, Section E1 of Burngreave Cemetery, Sheffield.
Parent or Next of Kin if Available: . Remarks: 7269 Attending Minister: T Couch.
Plot Owner: of . Page No

I have found that one of my ancestors died at the above location. Would this have been in the workhouse or the hospital? I have applied for Walters death certificate so I hope that I may glean more information from that. Please pardon my lack of knowledge in these matters as I'm new to the subject. Many thanks, I'm much obliged.

Re: A Death at Sheffield Union Hospital

Richard
Go back to the record and click on the link "find similar in same grave". That gives you a list of all the other 11 people buried in the same grave.
That shows it is a mass grave apparently owned by the Union.
Dave

Correction: 15 others in same grave.
Note that one was buried in the same grave by the same vicar on the same day
KILBORN, Mary (~, age 34).
Parent or Next of Kin if Available: . Remarks: 7269 Attending Minister: T Couch.
Dave

Richard, no need to apologise about the lack of knowledge, we all have to start somewhere and I hope you will get the bug.

This is what this forum is for to assist people and even us that have been doing this for ages still need to get assistance from the people of this wonderful site.

Do not be afraid to ask questions if you don't know something as asking is the only way of learning.

John

Hi Richard

Sheffield Union was a Workhouse covering the areas of:
Comprised Attercliffe *** Darnall, Brightside Bierlow, Bradfield Urban, Ecclesall, Ecclesfield Urban, Handsworth and Sheffield. The workhouse was built in 1881 at Fir Vale, and it later became the site of the Northern General Hospital.

Denise

Dave T