Sheffield Indexers

Welcome to our forum ~ please post your questions below.

Sheffield Indexers
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Hogan to Logan

James Patrick Logan married Margaret Elliot Dent 28/12/1891 in Hexham Registry Office. M E D already had one daughter out of wedlock but together they had a further seven daughters (one of whom was my Grandmother) and one son who tragically died in WW1 (from which his father never really recovered). James was a stonemason by trade and worked on Hadrians Wall excavations amongst other things. He was a very mysterious character who would never allow his photo to be taken. Family folklore had it that he ran away from a wealthy family in Ireland rather than enter the priesthood. One story was that he was recognised by Irish Navvies as Master James from the Big House. His parents allegedly advertised for him in the national press but he would not answer. In Census returns he would say he was born in Sheffield. His grandmother was rumoured to have been French thereby partly explaining the middle names of Josephine and Philippine given to two of his daughters (after his sisters allegedly).
Despite, or perhaps because of this information, I was never able to progress beyond James in this line of my tree for the best part of 30 years.
This all changed recently with the help of DNA and the discovery through ancestry of several linked researchers. It now transpires that James Patrick Logan was indeed born in Sheffield but as Patrick Hogan. I now know his parents were Michael Hogan, Grocer and Annie Ryan both from Ireland. A number of others have gone further back from that point but to say the least the provenance of those steps appears very doubtful.