Sheffield Indexers

Welcome to our forum ~ please post your questions below.

Sheffield Indexers
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
looking for great grandmother Mary McNally

I know my great grandmother was born in Sheffield in 1845. Her family emigrated to Ireland. I am looking for any family members. She emigrated to New York City and married David Scheele in 1865. she is buried in a Catholic cemetery in NY.

Re: looking for great grandmother Mary McNally

Martha, I can find neither a birth registration nor a baptism for her in or around Sheffield. How do you know she was born in Sheffield please?
Dave

I have the church record of her marriage to my great grandfather in 1865 in N.Y. City. It lists Sheffield England as her birth place. I have been researching her since 1999 and have had very little luck.

Do you know her father's name as I have found a baptism on 14th Oct 1849 in Sheffield for a Mary McNally (no birth date given). Father James, mother Ann Scanlon.

Jenny

Hi Martha,

I have just checked the record that Jenny found. I believe she may have got it from Family Search.

As we (Sheffield Indexers) had transcribed St Marie's records and she wasn't showing up which made me very curious.
I then went to the material we had used for the transcription to find that the register certainly looks like McNulty. There is certainly a line running across the top of what could be the second "l" making it looks like a "t".

Do the parents names match anything that you already know?

Elaine in Ottawa.

PS.

I have found her. Birth date Sep 18th 1849.

Will check the problem out why she is not showing up in our database.

Instant Messenger: Skype

Hi
Is this the baptism?

McNalty, Mary (of ~, born 1849-09-18).
Baptised October 14, 1849, by Matthew Kavanaugh at St Maries, Sheffield Centre.
Parents name(s) are Anne Scanlon & James (~).
Note:
Godparents: Danl Murn, Mary McGlinn :Page No 196 :Reg No ~

Sue

Hi Sue,

Yes I thats the one......