Sheffield Indexers

Welcome to our forum ~ please post your questions below.

Sheffield Indexers
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Herbert J Atkinson

I am interested in finding information regarding Herbert J Atkinson 1880 - 1914. I am new to this very interesting site but need some help please.
Family folklore says that he died ´testing aircraft´ The only other piece of information I have is he is buried in Tinsley Municipal Cemetery. His mother, Harriett committed suicide in the same year possibly suffering depression after death of son. If anyone can help we would be grateful. Thank you-

Re: Herbert J Atkinson

Hi Angie,

While I can't see the cause of death I can confirm that Herbert was buried in Plot NA69nc of Tinsley Park cemetery on 2nd April 1914. His occupation is shown as boiler fixer and his address is given as being 107 Liverpool Street, Attercliffe.

That's the same address as for Harriet, wife of Joseph, who was buried in the same plot on 9th February 1918.

Joseph, in case you don't have the information, was also buried at TPC but in Plot NA69gp on 8th April 1922. He was still living at the same address as Herbert and Harriet when he died. His occupation is given as being a machine driller.

Have you tried Sheffield Archives/Local Studies for the newspapers of the time to see if they have anything regarding Herbert being involved in the testing of aircraft? Harriet's suicide may also have been mentioned in the press given the attitudes towards the taking of someone's own life at that time. If you have access to FMP you could try there instead of making a trip into Sheffield.

Good luck in your searching.

Kind regards,

Nigel

Thanks for your response. We are living in Spain at the moment so doing research into the families (all Sheffield) has been a little difficult at times, also am new to using the site.
What is FMP please ?
Thanks again. Angie

Hi Angie,

I have looked at the newspapers on Findmypast, but could not find any items