Sheffield Indexers

Welcome to our forum ~ please post your questions below.

Sheffield Indexers
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Bridget & Patrick CARLON/CARLAN/CARLIN/CAROLAN

Hello,
Continuing with my family search, I wonder if anyone could help me find Mary Carlan's (name subject to different spellings) parents?
I think their names were Bridget & Patrick, their first daughter, Ann, was born around 1859 with Mary, my great grandmother, born the following year.

Thanks to the wonderful Sheffield Indexers, I've found Mary's baptismal record (I think) It gives Bridget's name as Cunningham, but I can't find any record of any marriage. I don't know if they married in Ireland or England.

I understood that they were both born in Ireland, and I don't think Cunningham would be an Irish name; could it be an anglicized version of an Irish name? If so, does anyone have any suggestions.

I have a subscription to Find my Past, but that doesn't help because there were many Patrick Carlan/Carlon/Carlin/Carolin/Carolan/Corlan marrying Bridgets in the mid 1850s. I've tried Familysearch too. The name seems to change on every census.

This is the 1861 census.

Patrick Carolin
1861 England & Wales Census
Birth: Circa 1829 - Ireland
Residence: 1861 - 14 Bakers Yard, Pea Croft, Sheffield, Yorkshire, England
Wife: Bridget Carolin
Children: Ann Carolin, Mary Carolin

Patrick Carlon
Birth: Circa 1833 - Ireland
Residence: Hollis Croft, Sheffield, Yorkshire, England
Wife: Bridget Carlon
Children: Ann Carlon, Mary Carlon, Thomas Carlon, Margaret Carlon, John W. Carlon

Just looking for someone to point me in the right direction.

Thanks
Verna

Re: Bridget & Patrick CARLON/CARLAN/CARLIN/CAROLAN

Verna,
GRO index confirms all the children as mmn Cunningham. There was also a Brigget, twin sister to Margaret, who died young.
Cunningham is an Irish name. It is among the 75 most common surnames in Ireland. It is most commonly found in the counties of Down, Antrim, Galway and Roscommon.
Dave