Sheffield Indexers

Welcome to our forum ~ please post your questions below.

Sheffield Indexers
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Brickwall on Sheffield Wood family.

Hi, this is my first time posting and I'm hoping you lovely Sheffield lot can help me with a brick wall I haven't managed to crack on my Sheffield Wood family.

My 2 X Great Grandfather was called Joseph Wood, born 1838/1839 in Sheffield (according to all census returns from 1871 up to 1911, with the exception of one which states Manchester.

I have only managed to uncover his fathers name from his marriage certificate but I would love to find out more about his parentage and his siblings.

Sometime between birth and 1864 Joseph moved to the North East of England. He married my 2 X Great grandmother Ann Shone on 21/10/1864 in Sunderland. On his marriage certificate his father is named as William Wood and his occupation is listed as a Publican.

Joseph married again in 1903 after the death of my GG Grandmother, this time he marries in marries in Harrogate to Fanny Ireland and again his father is named as Willim, occupation Licensed wine and spirt merchant. Joseph returns to the North East after this marriage.

A distant relative has suggested that Josephs mother was Margaret Young. I have uncovered a marriage between William Wood and Margaret Young in 1835 at the Cathedral church of St Peter and St Paul in Sheffield but have not managed to uncover any further information on the rest of the Wood family from Sheffield.

I would love to find out more about Josephs origins in Sheffield and about his family here, I would welcome any guidance anyone can provide.

Thanks in

Mary

Re: Brickwall on Sheffield Wood family.

Hi Mary,

Do you know about the Sheffield Council Website for BMD's?

http://libplugins.sheffield.gov.uk/bmd/Home.aspx

This was recently completed by S&DFHS and they have fixed many of the errors.

I entered Joseph Wood and 1838 with a three year search.
The search brought up four possibles.